Grounded for Life

image

Copyright:  Kati Bergman 2015

The start of any journey
is a blend of hope and fear.
Now I find, my footsteps
have led my journey here.

Up and up I climb, the path not hard to take.
But sooner than I think, the group decides to take a break.

It’s fun.
I like this hike, this slow steady mountain climb
as I’m reintroduced to muscles I haven’t felt
in a very very (very) long time.

Up and up we tread
along a winding path and then-

Wait, what?

Where’s the trail?

(Silence)

I know you can not mean
to leave this lovely path of earth
(gulp)
and climb out into that sky
out to where the whole world can be seen!
[Word Deleted- Quite Obscene]

Heave ho!
You start to go,
I have no choice but to follow.
The path I tread is now way way way
way way way way far below
There’s no turning back now-trust me, I know.

I’ve never been so focused on the here and on the now.
Focused on my hands and feet,
My core,
(THE HEIGHT THE HEIGHT THE HEIGHT)
my sweaty brow.
I’m going to be glad I did this…
but that moment isn’t now.

Step by step we climb (somehow higher than before)
Until the boulders make
a natural kind of door.

That’s open

and let’s me glance way way way way way down to the floor.

You want me to jump.
Surprise, surprise.
Yeah.
This isn’t fun anymore.

I close my eyes and let the team heave me to my doom.
(Or just through that door and into the next rocky room.)

And then the climb is done
It’s time to lunch with eagles and falcons,
who look so much bigger up here.

Then down we go and on the way
we spot by us very near,
a black bear,
a toxic port-a-John,
and a wild and hungry deer.

The end of any journey
is a blend of hope and fear.
I’m a lucky girl to find my footsteps
have led my journey here.

Comments are appreciated! Please leave a comment here.

