All the World’s a Stage: Poetry in Rehearsal

One of the many reasons I have been absent from my blog of late (new job, hiring and training new folks, moving, singing group, two weddings…) is that I’m in a play.  I’m in a production of the show ‘On Golden Pond’ with Stage Door Productions in Fredericksburg.  I play Chelsea (think Jane Fonda’s character).  She’s much older than me and very complex.  While waiting for a scene tonight I wrote this piece from Chelsea to her father:

Like similar poles on a magnet,
we fight.
So much alike
we won’t agree to see our similarities.
Insisting on distancing
ourselves
from one another.

Two stubborn ends resisting
insisting
on the win.
I once was eager to be on your side,
but now I can’t give in.

Listen
to the distance
that grows between us every time we meet,
the friction causing an infuriating heat
those golden summers could never hope to beat.

Beat. Beat.
Those few you have remaining, drive me to defeat.

I can bend, agree to see our similarities.
So much alike that I’m not sure we’ll ever meet.
Like the like ends of a magnet
we stay apart.

But I think I finally understand your heart.

If you’d like more information on the show please visit http://stagedoorproductions.org

They also have a link to their very awesome blog on their website!

4 thoughts on “All the World’s a Stage: Poetry in Rehearsal

Comments are appreciated! Please leave a comment here.

