Broken Butterfly

I had an extremely vivid dream last night. Not much happened, but it left me feeling very peaceful and it was still as vivid in the morning as it was when I slept so I decided to write about it. Please note the butterfly was huge…about the size of an eagle.

Last night a broken butterfly
visited me in sleep.
I was unaware of her approach
so silent did she creep,
until with sudden movement
the air began to beat
with strokes of vibrant wings
as she settled next to me.

The wings shimmered and reflected
all the colors of the sun
and she paused

and I paused

as if time had just begun.

So beautiful this creature was
with a wing torn half away.
How steady and resolved she was
to somehow find her way.

Last night a broken butterfly
visited me in sleep.
Her unexpected visit somehow brought me comfort,
brought me silence, brought me peace.

4 thoughts on “Broken Butterfly

    • Thank you! That is how I would describe the butterfly I dreamed about, so I’m glad it came across. It was such a strange dream in that nothing really happened, it was calm. Thank you again for reading!! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are appreciated! Please leave a comment here.

