Ferry Farm

image

Image Copyright: Kati Bergman 2014

 

This past weekend provided an opportunity to go exploring and we found ourselves at Ferry Farm, the childhood residence of George Washington. (Where he supposedly cut down the infamous cherry tree.)

In addition to belonging to the Washingtons, the property has witnessed several historical events, including sheltering Civil War soldiers, and hosted several historical figures. I’ve included a few images from the property as well as a small poem here. I hope you enjoy!!

image

Image Copyright: Kati Bergman 2014

Please don’t mind my footsteps,
I try to step with care
in the fields you used to roam, your home,
passing memories made of air.

The echoes of days gone by
still drift among the trees
and if I still myself to listen,
the stories live on even now
in each and every breeze.

The river laps and licks the Ferry Road,
though ships no longer kiss the shore,
those busy days of trade and trust
faded, gone…
forever more

And as I leave I can’t help but to wonder…

I wonder what you’d think,
I wonder what you’d say,
if you could see the place you knew
the way it is today.

2 thoughts on “Ferry Farm

Comments are appreciated! Please leave a comment here.

