A Mile in My Shoes

I’ve been in a bit of a writing rut these past two weeks.  (Mainly due to time constraints.) So I’ve mostly just been playing my little word game. Here is one from a while back, hope you enjoy!  (Apologies if it seems a wee bit dreary for a Friday…I had to use that word…)

A dreary sky gives dreary thoughts
voice inside my head,
and the echoes of fears unmet
flood and haunt the paths I’ve tread.
Running never quiets them,
only gives them pause.
I think I’ve come to realize though,
you can never change what was.
I have wandered many miles in my shoes
and learned the lessons there,
I think it may be time for me
to try another pair.

Written January 26, 2014

Words I had to use: dreary, running, shoe

Comments are appreciated! Please leave a comment here.

